Department of Corrections: Mike Spagat Edition

Hello old friends.  Once again I need to apologize for neglecting you but I  plan to atone for my sins by flooding you with interesting stuff over the next few weeks.

I’ve been reading the new book by Philip Tetlock and Dan Gardner on “Superforecasting”.  It is spectacularly good and I will definitely come back to it on the blog but for now I draw attention a a relatively minor point of the book.

Those of you who have clicked the “About” link on my web page know that it contains this:

download

Well guess what?  No one can find a solid record of Keynes actually saying this and it appears that, in fact, he didn’t say it.

Ooooops…..

….and, yes, I’m aware of the irony of using precisely this quote to define a blog which devotes a lot of effort to correcting errors.  So I must issue a correction and an abject apology.

That didn’t feel too bad, which is good because I’m sure it won’t be the last time I issue a correction on this blog.

Meanwhile, I pledge to live by the sentiment of the apocryphal quote.

One thought on “Department of Corrections: Mike Spagat Edition

Leave a Reply

