Documents on the Court Case on Fabricated Data

Jim James of James Industry Research (JIR) Group has given me permission to post documents from his successful court case over fabricated data.

Unfortunately, due to a technical glitch I didn’t manage to talk to Mr. James today so I’m still a little hazy on the details of his case.  However, the basic shape of the situation seems clear enough.  It is as if I hire you to provide male, Chinese athletes for my focus group but, instead, you deliver a bunch of overweight, elderly women complete with certificates saying they are male, Chinese athletes.

Based on this document and the spreadsheet to be found here the main mystery for me is to explain how a firm that performs so badly can exist in a competitive market environment.   As far as I can tell the contractor would have known that every person delivered JIR would be reinterviewed.  If so, then I can’t grasp how they would have expected their work to hold up.  The only explanation I can think of is that are accustomed incredible tolerance for bad work.

My point is that the occurrence of this incident suggests that it is embedded in a much wider environment of fraud.

Have a look at the documents.  I think they’ll make you laugh out loud.

Leave a Reply

